Topic: Flash Snipes  (Read 12988 times)

Author Message

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shockwave

  • RCM Programmer.
  • user
  • C128
  • *
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Home Page
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2008, 09:29:29 PM »
For a hint, (I am not even sure if you'll find anything), search for Novel networks "NC SNIPES"

I spent too long ficghting my classmates at that damned game when I was in college.

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9653
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #16 on: December 11, 2008, 09:35:57 PM »
mmmm . . . . multiplayer comes to mind . . . am i right?

I *think* i played that way back . . . ?
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline Shockwave

  • RCM Programmer.
  • user
  • C128
  • *
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Home Page
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #17 on: December 12, 2008, 10:35:31 AM »
Luckilly I managed to find something about it on the internet which means I won't need to code an example... The attached game is almost the same.

Keys;

Cursors and wasdx

It's about as oldschool as you can get, the game is in text mode, the version I have attached is not the one I mean.

The real cool one was an online game played over Novell LANs.

I think it could cope with about 8 people in the maze at once but the game loses a lot of it's enjoyment when you take the human element out of it.

If this could be done in flash (stable and bug free) I think it would rule.
It would need to keep the text graphics for authenticity and run a lot faster than the example I have attached.

The one I remember playing was a very fast game.

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9653
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #18 on: December 12, 2008, 01:16:53 PM »
Yeah - i did play it! I remember it well!

:) - the challenge is there then Combatking!  :'(

Nice one Shockwave!
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #19 on: December 12, 2008, 08:45:58 PM »
I'll have a look...

...it's certainly doable. I wasn't sure where to go, but I reckon those green rectangles with arrows are bad guys to be avoided. I couldn't collect the flashy boxes.

Would you like an exact recreation of the maze layout, or something original?

As far as multiplayer goes, I'm not sure how to set up a data stream for Flash, but it must be possible. The internets should be able to cope with such a small amount of data though.

...I've just checked a tutorial on multiplayer network games, and while it looks simple enough, I'll need to run some tests to make sure my host server is compatible with the technology. Failing that, I could try to make it peer to peer, which would be great for 2 players, but not for any greater number of players.

Perhaps a peer acting as a server to the other peers would be the way to go. I'll try various methods.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2008, 09:16:49 PM by combatking0 »
Retroman!

Offline Shockwave

  • RCM Programmer.
  • user
  • C128
  • *
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Home Page
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2008, 07:41:44 PM »
>> ...it's certainly doable. I wasn't sure where to go, but I reckon those green rectangles with arrows are bad guys to be avoided. I couldn't collect the flashy boxes.

The flashy boxes are where the snipes are generated, the green boxes are the snipes, however..

Both those do not feature in the game I was talking about, it was a pure multiplayer game

>> Would you like an exact recreation of the maze layout, or something original?

I think that the maze is generated procedurally on startup :)

>>As far as multiplayer goes, I'm not sure how to set up a data stream for Flash, but it must be possible. The internets should be able to cope with such a small amount of data though.

The original NC snipes had up to 8 players at once, the game finished when everyone ran out of lives.


>>...I've just checked a tutorial on multiplayer network games, and while it looks simple enough, I'll need to run some tests to make sure my host server is compatible with the technology. Failing that, I could try to make it peer to peer, which would be great for 2 players, but not for any greater number of players.

Just two players would suck. Having played the original and witnessed the carnage of 8 players in one maze...

Remember that you have a piece of gaming history in your hands here, this was the forerunner to doom and quake multiplayer, it came before all that and it made novell a lot of money! The game was used to demonstrate the technology of thier LAN's.

To do a bad job would be sacrelige, if you do it perfect then I bet that people would pay to play it.

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2008, 09:46:56 PM »
Ah. The server option will be the way to go.

I'll consult you at every milestone to ensure authenticity.
Retroman!

Offline Shockwave

  • RCM Programmer.
  • user
  • C128
  • *
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos 14
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • My Home Page
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2008, 01:46:24 PM »
:)

Did I tell you about the "rubber bullets" option? :)

Try starting snipes with the difficulty;

H9

I think it's H anyway...

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #23 on: December 16, 2008, 08:28:13 AM »
Cool! This game gets better and better!
Retroman!

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #24 on: December 23, 2008, 10:07:55 PM »
In other news, I have added a sheild battery power up to Asteroid Dodger, and tweeked the HUD a little.

The game is now too easy, and there's a debug message, and I still haven't added the sound effects yet, but would you say AD has the potential to be an enjoyable Arcade game on a forum such as this?

All of the listed problems (and others) will be fixed soon.
Retroman!

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9653
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #25 on: December 23, 2008, 10:11:01 PM »
It certainly would be welcome on here Tony! Nice work!
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Re: My Games for the Arcade
« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2009, 09:04:23 PM »
I have added a basic 2D star field to give the illusion of movement and added some sound effects.

It's still impossible to win though.
Retroman!

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Asteroid Dodger is complete!
« Reply #27 on: January 26, 2009, 01:26:13 PM »
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 07:55:06 PM by combatking0 »
Retroman!

Offline combatking0

  • Atari ST
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Kudos 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Combat King 0's Barcode Battler Site!
Flash Snipes
« Reply #28 on: February 09, 2009, 04:08:47 PM »
I have started playing with AJAX now, and I have calculated the throughput for 8 players using a 5 button control scheme (directions + fire) will require a minimum throughput of 40 bits per frame.

The headers for the data will be a bit bigger than this, but at 12 fps, this ammounts to 480 bits per second.

If my server can keep up with the synchronised requests coming in every 0.08333 seconds, the lag should be minimal.

Would 12 fps be enough, or is it too slow?
Retroman!

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9653
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: Flash Snipes
« Reply #29 on: February 09, 2009, 04:51:31 PM »
I think 12fps will be enough! ;)
Be good to see it!
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam