Topic: Amiga 500 revelation  (Read 621 times)

Author Message

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MrTrev

  • ZX80
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Kudos 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Laugha while you can Monkeyboy!
    • View Profile
Amiga 500 revelation
« on: November 27, 2017, 12:04:47 PM »
After listening to David Pleasance's talk at the pre-Christmas do. He mentioned that a lot of Amiga 500's, actually contain 500+ boards, due to the high demand and lack of regular 500 boards.

So I'm guessing the only way to confirm which board is inside a 500 is by visual inspection only?

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9618
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: Amiga 500 revelation
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 12:33:58 PM »
I would definitely say no way externally that I can think of unless the serial numbers give it away?
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline MrTrev

  • ZX80
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Kudos 2
  • Gender: Male
  • Laugha while you can Monkeyboy!
    • View Profile
Re: Amiga 500 revelation
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 02:47:03 PM »
Aren't they the 8A motherboard?

Offline Womble

  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 1188
  • Kudos 33
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Aussie Arcade
Re: Amiga 500 revelation
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 03:13:13 AM »
Depends if the board is fully populated, if it is then the board will have 1MB onboard, and a real time clock (and a time bomb battery).

I guess is this is true then the board would have those areas unpopulated, 512KB was too expensive to give away at the time.
Sic Transit Gloria Atari

Offline thepillock

  • Moderator
  • ZX80
  • ******
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amiga 500 revelation
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2018, 10:12:59 PM »
I understand they do have the full 1MB Chip so if you turn it on, you'll know for sure. A lot of them were fitted with KS1.3 ROMS though so you'll have to boot into Workbench to see, won't be obvious from the insert disk screen.

Or pop the trapdoor cover off and see if you can feel a battery? Can't remember if you can get a finger through there, but on a + board the clock battery sits right above the trapdoor so you might be able to feel/see it.