Topic: C16 PSU  (Read 2793 times)

Author Message

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
C16 PSU
« on: September 28, 2009, 08:18:13 AM »
I've now aquired a Commodore 16, however is has no PSU, does anyone know whether any of the other Commodore PSU's will fit, or is it a specific one for the C16 ?

StarshipUK

  • Guest
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 03:03:21 PM »
Like most things C16 it is specific, but is the same as the C116. Not even the Plus 4 has the same PSU.

Its part number 251539-04

9.5V 800mA 7.6W

Polarity is long line above line with dashes/dots. The plug is round with a hole in the middle.

I only have one that I use for my C116.

Offline Phu

  • RCM Workshop
  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 2084
  • Kudos 41
  • Gender: Female
  • Pay no attention to that PCB....
    • View Profile
    • ZX Spectrum Laptop Project
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 03:12:29 PM »
Hi,

I can make a 9.6V switch mode power supply (I imagine the C16 can tolerate an extra .1 of a volt) for the C16 for £10.

-- Richard
8 End of File, RCM:1

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2009, 05:36:04 PM »
Phu,

I'll bear that in mind thanks, I don't suppose any of the off the shelf muti adaptors will fit then ?

Offline Phu

  • RCM Workshop
  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 2084
  • Kudos 41
  • Gender: Female
  • Pay no attention to that PCB....
    • View Profile
    • ZX Spectrum Laptop Project
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2009, 06:07:04 PM »
I just did some research into what connector it takes. Standard 2.1mm centre-negative barrel connector according to one source, who also states that a ZX Spectrum PSU will do the job.

As with the Speccy PSU, the output is unregulated, so reads around 13V unloaded. As long as your off-the-shelf can do 9V at 800mA (7.6 VA/W) then it should work fine...

The C16 uses a 5V regulator for the most part, with the unregulated section being used to drive the cassette motor.

-- Richard
8 End of File, RCM:1

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2009, 07:09:35 PM »
Well tried it with a Speccy PSU, worked OK and also loaded a game !! So bonus I suppose, especially as bening sold for Spares  ;D

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9675
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2009, 07:37:50 PM »
Superb mate! Im pleased it worked! What game did you play?

Andy
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: C16 PSU
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2009, 07:42:34 PM »
I's a tape that came with it, got 4 programs (I just tried the first)

XZAP
PUNCHY
ROLF HARRIS DRAWING PROG
CHESS

Disn't like the way you get no indication of it loading (just a plain blue screen), no flashing border or anything  :-\