Topic: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please  (Read 5372 times)

Author Message

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline billdooruk

  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 2476
  • Kudos 26
  • Gender: Male
  • I could murder a curry
    • View Profile
    • Our site:-
Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« on: September 08, 2011, 10:04:11 PM »
I have been given an Amstrad FD1 :)

It powers up with a green light and the red light seems to glow dimmly....no noises....is that normal ???

It has no lead to connect it to PC 464 or 6128....What lead to I need & any idea where to get one ???

Cheers

Karl

Offline IanS

  • ZX80
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Kudos 5
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2011, 11:08:32 PM »
No noise and dim red light is normal.

You need a DDI-1 to connect it to a 464, and just a ribbon cable with appropriate connectors for a 664/6126.

Offline questor

  • user
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 862
  • Kudos 38
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 08:45:53 AM »
And usually you need to fit a new drive belt to these things as they loose their elasticity over time..... takes about 10mins if you know what your doing or 30mins if you don't  ;D


Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 11:25:54 AM »
Do they use the same belt as the 6128 ? got a spare one of those, so might change the belt in my FD-1

Offline AndyRCM

  • >=))))º> GO FEED THE FISH! <º((((=<
  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 9675
  • Kudos 50
  • Gender: Male
  • Manic Jet Set Willy
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computer Museum
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2011, 11:43:16 AM »
Karl - we have a DDI-1 at the RCM HQ - if you wanted to test the drive maybe? ;)

A
"I could see the faces of those who led pissing themselves laughing" - Funeral Pyre by The Jam

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2011, 12:01:15 PM »

Offline Panther

  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 4180
  • Kudos 35
  • Gender: Male
  • Look at the size of my.......Paws
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2011, 12:03:34 PM »

Offline Prime

  • CPC 464
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
  • Kudos 12
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2011, 12:18:55 PM »
Yeah I have one of those interfaces though I think I modified mine to take it's 5V power from the 464 as I don't have the FD1.

That way I can use it with an externally powered 3.5" drive, and as I'm using a 5V supply that is beefyer than the stock Amstrad one I figured this would be ok.

Cheers.

Phill.

Offline questor

  • user
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 862
  • Kudos 38
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2011, 12:59:39 PM »
Do they use the same belt as the 6128 ? got a spare one of those, so might change the belt in my FD-1

Yes - same drive mech inside (or very similar depending on age of FD-1).

Offline billdooruk

  • Administrator
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 2476
  • Kudos 26
  • Gender: Male
  • I could murder a curry
    • View Profile
    • Our site:-
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2011, 10:10:39 PM »
Can I connect it using the same lead as my external 3.5" floppy for the 6128 ???

Offline Andy

  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 2468
  • Kudos 17
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computers
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2011, 01:56:50 PM »
Can I connect it using the same lead as my external 3.5" floppy for the 6128 ???

You can - but its best to open the FD-1 up and unplug the connector that sends 5v down the ribbon cable.

1200xl

  • Guest
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2011, 02:29:36 PM »



*runs* ;D

Offline Andy

  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 2468
  • Kudos 17
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Retro Computers
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2011, 02:32:14 PM »
Thought we were talking about the Amstrad, not Atari
* AndyT also runs...  ;D

Offline Phu

  • RCM Workshop
  • Committee
  • Amiga 4000
  • *
  • Posts: 2084
  • Kudos 41
  • Gender: Female
  • Pay no attention to that PCB....
    • View Profile
    • ZX Spectrum Laptop Project
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2011, 04:50:05 PM »
*Puts the 1200xl-cat and the AndyT-cat in opposite corners*

-- Richard
8 End of File, RCM:1

Offline woody.cool

  • I get Woody for Camy
  • Amiga 4000
  • ******
  • Posts: 1631
  • Kudos 11
  • Gender: Male
  • HADOOKEN!
    • View Profile
Re: Amstrad FD1 - Advice please
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2011, 08:20:41 AM »
Do they use the same belt as the 6128 ? got a spare one of those, so might change the belt in my FD-1
Yes, it's the same drive :)